Posts

[Review] THIRSTY SWORD LESBIANS Beta Playtest

Image
If 7th Sea is a game of "What Would Errol Flynn Do?", Thirsty Sword Lesbians is "What Would Julie d'Aubigny Do?"

Confession, my first reaction to the the play test materials was "this is a game of 'What Would a Sapphic Errol Flynn Do?"  And then I remembered there was someone from history that was THE perfect fit for this game.  The swashbuckling high adventure ideals and the structure of the game built around relationships and story brought to mind the much popular game by John Wick... but for me in a much more comprehensible and to the heart package.

Thirsty Sword Lesbians is a rolepaying game for telling queer stories with friends. If you love angsty disaster lesbians with swords, you have come to the right place.

In this book, you’ll find:
Flirting, sword-fighting, and zingers in a system designed for both narrative drama and player safety.An innovative take on the Powered by the Apocalypse family of games.Nine character types, each focusing on …

[Book Review] Dune

Image
Dune (Deluxe Edition) / Frank Herbert

Dune is one of those books I don't know where to start.  There's little about this book that was idle creation, the first novel alone containing deep and deliberate lore, born in part out of the author's own work and study in ecology and environmentalism.  I have not read more than this first book, so I do not know if the story later loses its way, it's depth, or if it loses sight of the consequences of Paul's own actions.  But I am in awe as I periodically learn more and more about the book's genesis, depth, and impact on the genre.

That is not to say the book without flaw, the coding of Baron Harkonnen for example.  More that it's a significant body of work, and that flaws should be part of any higher or academic discussion of the novel.  I say academic b/c I would totally take a literature class that unpackaged Dune.

54 years after it's initial publication, it's not an unknown novel, and most things I could s…

[Book Review] Rosemary and Rue

Image
Rosemary and Rue (October Daye #1)/ Seanan McGuire

Previously reviewed:
Once Broken FaithThe Brightest FellNight and SilenceThe Unkindest Tide Wow.  10th Anniversary edition.  You've come a long way, Toby.

It's easy to forget that once Toby was not the first to run into danger, someone who was, to the best of her knowledge, so breakable and mortal.  At one point, she found the threat and then called in others to deal with it.

This is Toby before she came into herself, recovering from her life being stolen from her and being dumped out of time and out of place.  This is before she discovers the truth of her heritage or takes on a squire.  This is before she builds her network of allies and friends that becomes her family.

Toby is very different than the woman we've come to know and love, but the seeds are all there.

In some series, going back to the beginning, to the author's first book, can be a jarring reminder of how much the author has grown in their storytelling alo…

[Book Review] Fallen

Image
Fallen (Alex Verus #10) / Benedict Jacka

It's always a little awkward to jump into a series so far in, but I was looking for something new and I'm a fan of Urban Fantasy.  Cover blurb from Jim Butcher didn't hurt either.

Ten books in, there's a lot of action and history already past.  However, while I'm certain I've missed some finer points overall at no point did I feel lost.

The voice of the book falls into what I've come to expect as a standard tone for British Urban Fantasy, and should appeal to fans of Paul Cornell's London Falling or Ben Aaronovitch's Rivers of London series.  Comparing to series at large, it have the edge of sardonic humor that fans of The Laundry Files, The Dresden Files, or October Daye are used to, with the story staying to a slightly more serious tone.

What will be familiar is the urgent pressure of the situation Alex Verus finds himself in, trying to succeed against a stacked deck.  Or protagonists build themselves teams…

[Book Review] The Unkindest Tide

Image
The Unkindest Tide (October Daye #12) / Seanan McGuire

Previously reviewed:
Once Broken FaithThe Brightest FellNight and Silence I start this review like I did the last one... Oh, Toby.
We're solidly in what in my head can be classified as "Phase 2" of the series.  I have no clue if this is true, but we're several books past a tipping point as it were, we're seeing debts come due, and Toby is operating solidly in a heavier weight class than before.  Not that it makes the summons she must heed any easier.  It would appear that no good deed goes unpunished, and no one holds a grudge or stirs up trouble quite like the immortal.
The Luidaeg told the Selkies that she was coming to collect on a blood debt long due, told Toby that it would be her skills that would bring it to pass.... and when blood and magic and promises are knotted together, there is no escape.
Once Faire had the Roane, the Luidaeg's children, until mortals were tempted to immortality and killed the…

[Book Review] Fire Season

Image
Fire Season (Eric Carter #4) / Stephen Blackmoore

Soooo... I love me some Urban Fantasy.  I enjoy Paranormal Romance, but it's not my main bag, and sometimes it can be difficult to find a Urban Fantasy series I like that aren't Romance.  I did a Reader's Advisory video for it two years ago (Urban Legends: Urban Fantasy that's not Paranormal Romance).

Eric Carter would be a good contemporary to Harry Dresden (The Dresden Files) and James Stark (Sandman Slim).  Or maybe they'd all kill each other in a giant fireball, I'm not really sure... but I am considering to see if there's any fanfiction involving them in combination on AO3 now...

Where the series stands out is the styling of the magic and the mythologies it pulls its inspirations from.  Dresden and Stark for example, are mages or wizards that throw around power, exerting their will and using it to shape forces in the world around them in their series.  Carter, however, is a necromancer... which comes wi…

[Book Review] Storm Cursed

Image
Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) / Patricia Briggs

Previously reviewed:
Fire TouchedSilence Fallen"Zombie Miniature Goats"

Apparently they are blood thirsty, adorable, and a bit ineffective

I suppose I should have actually started the review with something more substantive to the story.  But, sorry, not sorry, I'm too delighted at the Zombie Miniature Goats.

Storm Cursed could perhaps be summarized as "no good deed goes unpunished."  Neither good nor necessary mean easy, and that is definitely something that the protagonists face again and again through the story.  The threat, like it so often is, comes from outside, is larger than life, and implacable.  Yet, how it impacts everyone involved is deeply intimate.

Advance Reader Copy courtesy of Ace (Penguin RandomHouse) in exchange for an honest review; changes may exist between galley and the final edition.